Hopefully I will have time soon to start pulling together all the wrestling stuff I have spread all over the internet into one place... either here or my old domain. I might even have some time to start doing some publicity and networking too.
Then again, WWE '13 comes out next week, so I'll probably be busy after that.
Sad news about Mike Graham came out last week... some reports say he committed suicide, but others say that the cause of death has not been released. I never saw any of his work in his dad's Florida Championship Wrestling territory, but I enjoyed watching him in recent years on WWE's roundtable series on WWE Classics and on some of the legends DVDs, particularly the World Class and AWA documentaries.
I am still a week behind on WWE viewing, but I do know that WWE has painted themselves into a corner by having Ryback challenge CM Punk at Hell in a Cell. As always, we should reserve judgment until we see how the match goes, but you can't have Punk put over Ryback at this point in either guy's run, you can't have Ryback job to Punk because it will kill his gimmick, and you can't really have a screwjob finish because the only other guy to give the rub to would be John Cena, and he's on the shelf at the moment.
Maybe this is a point where you slide Randy Orton over from the World Championship picture and start booking a high-profile match for Survivor Series with Punk, but not knowing his 12 Rounds schedule, it's hard to tell if that is feasible. It will probably be Cena vs. Punk next month (again) and building to a rematch of Cena vs. Rock (again) at the Royal Rumble. Some say that Punk will hold the title until then, and that there has been storyline foreshadowing to make that case, but Vince McMahon seems to be more unsettled these days about sticking to any kind of plan. I'm sure at some point, something else will stick to the wall, and he will deviate from the plan.
Speaking of Survivor Series, I plan on getting tickets to my first WWE show in about 10 years and my first PPV show in about 15 years. Should be fun... and speaking of (again), it seems that WWE has taken a page from the Hollywood playbook. Sequelmania is running wild at the box office, brother! Nothing wrong with high-profile big-money rematches, but you get more longevity out of them by spacing them more than a year apart and more time to build the payday.
See you tomorrow after Raw.
0
0 comments: